Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

July 26, 2007 at 9:03 pm 7 comments

Well readers here is my review for the the seventh and final installment in the Harry Potter series.   First, I will say that overall I am a fan of the series and felt a reasonable sense of satisfaction with the conclusion of Deathly Hallows.  Most of Deathly Hallows played out as I had predicted especially in regard of the vanquishing of the Dark Lord, Harry survival and the true nature of Severus Snape.  I thought the beginning of the book was beautifully dark but lead to a rather slow middle section which I now (thanks to Stamas) refer to as the “camping” section of the book as all the trio does is go camping.  I think the books real turning point revolves around the death of Dobby the house elf.  It is at this point that Harry gets “Sirius” (I know) about what has to be done.   The battle at Hogwarts was pretty cool  although I didn’t really care about Lupin and Tonks dieing as I had already foreseen this when Lupin made Harry the godfather of recently born Teddy.  I also did not feel much remorse at the death of Fred and am surprised more Weasleys  did not die.  I did however think it was pretty funny when Crabbe accidentally killed himself.   My least favorite part of the book was the epilogue as it really told us nothing about what had happened to everyone and what they were doing in the aftermath of the war.  No one cares about Harry’s kids (myself especially) and aside from the last line the epilogue was pointless.  My favorite part would have to be the kiss between Ginny and Harry in the beginning of the book.  I can’t really tell you why this is but I linger on it perhaps it appeals to some part of me that I thought was dead (or should be).  Anyway I welcome comments and discussion questions (from non-daybringer/boss john sources) and will probably post more on the subject soon.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Links fixed This Weekend at the Movies

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kevin  |  July 26, 2007 at 10:26 pm

    You should add a disclaimer that you are going to talk about how the book turns out. Preferably at the beginning of the post, so I don’t read something that I didn’t want to know yet.

    dammit.

  • 2. tendie  |  July 27, 2007 at 4:32 am

    It is your favorite part because you are a little girl perhaps? I don’t remember the last line of the epilogue…I guess I’ll have to go check. My favorite part of the book is definitely Snape not being the fall guy anymore.

  • 3. michele  |  July 27, 2007 at 2:47 pm

    I think you linger on the moment when Ginny is kissing Harry because you wish you had a red-head of your own.

    This is why you shouldn’t tell me things that I’ll remember.

    I agree about the epilogue, though … Harry is not an Auror, or Professor, or Headmaster … he’s a dad. I guess that comes with pension in the wizarding world if the only reason everyone has survived is because you risked your ass.

  • 4. epohonze  |  July 27, 2007 at 4:31 pm

    Well I assume Harry has a job it just wasn’t revealed in the epilogue I guess Rowling doesn’t think we care….

  • 5. Boss John  |  July 27, 2007 at 10:44 pm

    THANKS FOR RUINING THE BOOK ASSHOLE!!! Oh wait… It was ruined as soon as she wrote the first one. Harry Potter is the Cleglaw’s Tooth of Potter’s. What a piece of trash. Not even worth taking back to town to resell. Might well just leave it laying in the field where it dropped. You’re a pedophile! That’s why you linger on that kiss…. Pervert.

  • 6. tendie  |  July 28, 2007 at 6:37 am

    hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha! Damn that tooth. it can stay with artic furs for all I care.

  • 7. epohonze  |  July 28, 2007 at 3:48 pm

    Well if we go by the time line in the books (and I do) Ginny is actually a year older than I am( BAM not a pedophile) ….in fact she is your age….hmmm stay away from my woman you may have the same last name and magical powers as her husband but with your Johnny Dep looks you mite just win her over.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

July 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Most Recent Posts


