The digital camera debacle

August 7, 2007 at 3:03 am 7 comments

So I am considering purchasing a digital camera but I know little about them (as in what distinguishes a “good” one verses a “not so good one”). I know more megapixels is better but aside from this I am unaware of what other facets that factor into the construction of a good digital camera. Another confusing aspect of this serch is the fact that I am not a “picture” person: meaning I have never really been one to take pictures of things as I have a pretty decent visual memory and have never really felt the need to take pictures as in most cases I can remember things. Nevertheless I am interested in some of the technological possibilities that could be made possible with the assistance of some pictures. One idea would be my idea for this blog that will be entitled “Get to know your movie theater workers” in which pictures and a brief bio/Q and A ofone of my co-workers could be posted and eventually tie into a larger plan/ideas. So I guess in writing this I have kind of convinced myself to get one … The only real con to this would be me spending the money and not using it which would suck and thus provides me with some motivation to use it.

ic_camera1_narrowweb__300x4060.jpg

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

This Weekend at the Movies Science + Art = Nerd

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Boss John  |  August 7, 2007 at 3:56 am

    Oh, you need make sure you get a camera that has the ability to take pictures. It’s a very important, although commonly overlooked, feature for a digital camera to have. It should probably also have some way to transfer the “digital” images to a computer of some sort. Also, make sure you have a computer of some sort. Trust me, these are very important things to think about when purchasing a digital camera.

  • 2. epohonze  |  August 7, 2007 at 4:00 am

    Thanks for the helpful hints! I never would of thought about the camera’s ability to take pictures I was going to get one to look cool.

  • 3. Daybringer  |  August 7, 2007 at 4:24 am

    Johns tips are very useful. Let me tell you. I was at the store the other day and this guy keep trying to make me buy this “sweet” camera. He said “Look its only 8.99” so i was like sweet! And guess what! I cant transfer the film into my computer! Who would a thought! So make sure you get one that can take a picture and transfer it! Good tips John!

    No seriously Mega pixels are obviously good. Mines just a year old at 6.1ish mega pixels and the pictures looks good. But they now have over 15 mega pixels or so. Heck a cell phone in Japan has over 10! But then again 15 mega pixels will cost you over 2 grand. You can find a really good 8 mega pixels for just around 250. Heck, look at a Best buy add and I’m sure you’ll find one with a free memory sick (The transferring device in johns case) But also makes sure your computers have memory slots (like mine) other words you have to keep some stupid cord with it.(I.E more you have to carry around.) Also i would suggest getting a camera bag and at least a 1-2 gig Memory stick. anything less and you’ll be transferring pictures daily. Make sure its pretty thin, but you’ll also need a good digital zoom on it. With out it mega pixels mean nothing.

    For your info. a mega pixel is one million pixels.

  • 4. michele  |  August 7, 2007 at 1:24 pm

    I agree with the advice above – high picture quality and a large memory. Seeing as how you will use it sparingly, I’d go for a 1 gig. I have a 2 gig (as it was a special) and can take nearly 7,000 small sized pictures.

    Other than that, look for features that you like and seem easy to work with. I mean the different picture settings – if it has a manual setting, how easy the settings are to figure out on your own, wat they look like on the display. Those sorts of things. I love my camera for that. It’s a Canon PowerShot A560, if you want a place to start looking.

    Good luck … and now you won’t have to make up excuses for why you can’t take pictures of your head.

  • 5. Kevin  |  August 8, 2007 at 5:38 am

    http://www.dpreview.com/

    I read this site alot while wondering what camera to buy. I never did buy a camera, but it’s still a good site.

  • 6. epohonze  |  August 8, 2007 at 4:03 pm

    That is a pretty impressive site thanks for the link!

  • 7. Daybringer  |  August 9, 2007 at 4:25 am

    Don’t listen to anyone but me…

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

August 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Most Recent Posts


