This Weekend at the Movies

August 10, 2007 at 12:04 pm 4 comments

Greetings! and welcome to another installment of my weekly movie reviews. The first film of disccusion this week is Rush Hour 3 the third (and hopefully final) film in a much (at least by me) maligned series. Rush Hour 3 again stars Chris Tucker and Jackie Chan as hapless agents of the law seeking to put an end to injustice in the world. I am sure Rush Hour 3 is loaded with terrible physical comedy and a host of racial jokes that are just barely offensive and therefore just barely funny. Next we come to Daddy Day Camp which is in one word HORRIBLE!!! just don’t see it…please. Finally we come to the one movie I actually plan to watch this week Neil Gaimens Stardust. While I have not read the illustrated novel upon which the movie is based I am still interested in this movie as I have come to enjoy the work of Neil Gaimen especially his novel American Gods. While Stardust does not look like it is going to change my life it will at least offer the fervent fantasy escapism that I crave on a daily basis. Stardust also features Claire Danes who I often find myself enjoying regardless of how bad a movie she is in (see my review of Evening).

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Science + Art = Nerd WoW I am a nerd

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. michele  |  August 10, 2007 at 12:44 pm

    It was a novel … Stardust that is. And quite good. Not as dark as many of Gaiman’s other works, but a good story.

    I am looking forward to seeing it.

    I’ve also been rereading His Dark Materials lately … even though the first installment doesn’t come out until Christmas (right?).

    Oh, and I was working on your birthday present last night. It’s hard to take a cartoon character and draw them doing something that they wouldn’t normally be doing while preserving the look they have in the show overall.

    AKA it’s harder than I thought, but I’m on it. Sunday deadline.

  • 2. epohonze  |  August 10, 2007 at 2:59 pm

    Thanks for keeping my review honest. I am also glad to hear about the b-day present I look forward to its completion.

  • 3. tendie  |  August 11, 2007 at 9:17 am

    Well technically Stardust IS an illustrated novel now…also a graphic novel but it did start out as a novel. And, since Neil Gaiman has become cool I tend to steer away from him as it seems talking about him gives birth to a new emo kid everytime.

  • 4. michele  |  August 14, 2007 at 3:03 am

    Oh … PS – I suck.

    Tonight I work on a sketch. Tomorrow I go for finals. Then I ink.

    I know that I can be a terribly forgetful friend at times, but … will you still take me to the store?? Just once more for old time’s sake.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

August 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Most Recent Posts


