The past is past

September 26, 2007 at 1:02 am 3 comments

Well this past week has been a pretty busy one but I finally have a little time to write so here we go.  This past weekend I played a concert with the River Cities Symphony Orchestra in Parkersburg West Virgina.  The Program consisted of Brahm’s first symphony and the Grieg Piano Concerto.  Both pieces were fun to play and went over pretty well in the concert.  The soloist on the Grieg was excellent and really “rocked out” on the cadenza of the first movement.  My bass playing colleagues tried to follow suit in the Brahms by playing very aggressively and with a great deal of gusto.  I did find myself becoming very jealous of two of my section mates fine basses and especially their low “C” extensions which enabled them to shake then stage.  Aside from this I finished reading Mary Pipher’s book  Writing to Change the World which was excellent and naturally very well written and has provided me with a push of sorts to start getting more of my ideas out in some form of written media.  It is my plan to make this blog the format for some of these segments.  In other news I have began reading a book for my Middle Eastern History class entitled Daughter of Persia which is the memoir of Sattareh Farman Farmaiah who grew up in early 20th century Iran and bore witness to a number of changes which  shaped Iran into the country we know today.  Reading this book has put the recent (yesterday I believe) of the current leader of Iran- President Mahmoud Ahmadinejad into perspective, as Iran was in many ways so close to achieving a democratic secular society that it is even more depressing to see it as it is today.  Well thats about it for now I hope to update more regularly so check back often for updates.

b1073persia-posters.jpg

Entry filed under: 1.

Quote of the Day Updates (finally I know)

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. michele  |  September 28, 2007 at 1:14 am

    I read your blog … happy now?

  • 2. michele  |  September 28, 2007 at 1:14 am

    PS … I just got a reminder to finish Boss John’s commission … soon, I swear, soon.

  • 3. michele  |  October 17, 2007 at 2:43 am

    Jon’s all like, “OMG read mah blog!”

    And yet … he never updates.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

September 2007
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Most Recent Posts


