Media Reviews

April 3, 2008 at 10:27 pm 4 comments

    I have a little free time this evening so I thought I would add some reviews of media that I have recently consumed.  The first item up for review is the book Reading Loita in Tehran by Azar Nafisi.  Overall I really enjoyed this book which is probably not surprising as I am interested in the study of Middle Eastern affairs, with a particular soft spot for Iran.  I also am a fan a literature and enjoyed Professor Nafisi’s use of literary classics as a way to provide context for events in her life and country.  I especially enjoyed the section that alluded to The Great Gatsby as a sort of metaphor for post-revolution Iran.  I also thought that Professor Nafisi did a nice job of explaining the significance of the veil in Islamic society and how the revolution by making the wearing of the veil mandatory in many ways took away its significance.  I think that Reading Loita in Tehran would be a very enjoyable book for anyone who enjoys literature and a chance to learn about the lives of people in a country that is at least in the U.S. often mentioned in a negative fashion.

readinglolitaintehran.jpg

The next item up for review is the film In Bruges.   I really enjoyed In Bruges as it has that wonderful mixture of dark comedy and violence that I so covet in a film.  This is not to say that In Bruges is a surreal hit-man wonderfilm a la Pulp Fiction (which I love) but it offers more realism and dare I say a touch of heart.  I thought the script was well written with the bulk of the lines being delivered by co-stars Colin Farrell and Brendon Gleeson.  I must also admit that I was smitten with the performance of  Clemence Poesy who played the lead female role.  Being a music nerd I must comment on the music which I liked but I almost jumped out of my seat and clapped when I heard the Passacaglia and Fugue in C minor by J.S. Bach used in a scene.  My only real regret about this movie is that fact that I had to see it on a tiny art house screen in a theater which has little in the way of leg room.  It is sad that such a great movie is relegated to a handful of theaters while most theaters get four prints of crap like 10,000 BC.
in-bruges-poster.jpg

Entry filed under: 1.

Happy Persian New Year! Pictures of the Past

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tendie  |  April 5, 2008 at 4:43 am

    NERD! THE GREAT GATSBY SUCKED ASS!

  • 2. epohonze  |  April 5, 2008 at 12:52 pm

    I don’t think that you can argue that point as I recall you saying you never finished it.

  • 3. Boss John  |  April 6, 2008 at 12:32 pm

    10,000 B.C. on the other hand was utter garbage. It made me physically ill just trying to sit through it. I actually got paid to suffer through that crap. I would gladly have paid them for me not to have watched it. I, of course, could not agree more on how terrible it is that In Bruges deserves to be on far more screens. Instead, we’ve got 21, and Leatherheads in the Director’s Halls. WTF?! I blame this all on the stupidity of the American consumer….

  • 4. epohonze  |  April 6, 2008 at 10:22 pm

    Agreed on all counts.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Most Recent Posts


